Spinach Soup – UnRecipe

A new theme that may or may not become a regular occurrence. When it comes to baking I love a recipe and can follow it just fine, usually producing a fair approximation to the correct result. For some reason when I’m cooking anything savoury on the hob I either didn’t bother to get a recipe, or mess up a recipe through bad planning. Also, I usually don’t think of cooking until I’m already hungry. Most of my cooking these days involves long-memorised combinations or jars of sauce on top of cooked chicken or pasta.

With a certain amount of cooking knowledge, I, like many of you I’m sure, often tend to throw things together either on the fly (no shopping in) or with only a vague plan in mind. Sometimes these work, and sometimes they don’t. This unrecipe is for a soup I made to use up a big bag of spinach on its way out. It makes about 3 big bowls.

Ingredients

  • 1 red onion
  • 2 fairly big potatoes (I used Maris Pipers as they’re my favourite…)
  • garlic
  • 1 slender leek
  • big bag (300g!) of spinach
  • rosemary, sage and thyme
  • chicken stock cube
  • salt and pepper

Method:

  1. Get a big pot on with some oil and chop the onion as thinly as you can be bothered. Chuck it in.
  2. Smash some garlic (I used 2 cloves) and get that in too. Stir it up and sweat them down a bit.
  3. Chop up the leek and get it in too.
  4. Chop up or slice some potatoes, again, as small as you can be bothered. I used the slicer side of the box grater to get the potatoes quite thin so they cooked faster. Keep an eye on the onions and garlic so they don’t burn.
  5. Put the kettle on – about 1 litre of water left me with a pleasantly thick soup. Get the potatoes in the pan and put the spinach on top, if you can get a lid on it then the spinach will shrink faster.
  6. Gather the seasonings and the stock, and smash up the stock cube. Pour in the water on top of the spinach and put the seasonings in too. Mix it all together and cook until the spinach has wilted and the potato is cooked.
  7. Blend it for a thick green soup, or not if you prefer the chunks and the purple of the onions.
  8. Dump grated cheese on top if you like. (Nearly healthy…)
  9. Eat it!

Leave a Reply

