Geocaching Finds 4 to 7 and Misses

As always, beware spoilers below!

I found myself in Durham with some time to kill today, and so spent the time searching for some caches.

The first cache I looked for (GC4VF7E) was fairly mysterious in nature, but I soon spotted it after a hunch about the clue, and from previous comments left on the log.

The first of the day.
The first of the day.

I had to time the retrieval and return of this one so as not to be too overlooked, but I’m sure any one watching would have had a giggle at my expense! Wet knees and a mucky coat later, I was triumphant!

My next try (GC2CD9C)  was for a cache reported to contain foreign coins and had an interesting clue, so I headed to that one next. A wrong turn or two took me to the wrong place, but I soon found what I thought was the correct location, but where was the cache? I hunted about but to no avail, and didn’t want to hang around too much because of a security camera! I made a mental note to come back later.

It's here somewhere.
It’s here somewhere.

As it was very close by, I had a go at a multi-cache (GC1N5WQ) and found the first clue no problem. Unfortunately I was then hampered by the lack of correct technology and couldn’t accurately find the coordinates of the final reward… So close!

A good start.
A good start.

The next find (GC4EYT2) was fairly straightforward for me, but I loved the location in the warm and dry. It’s also fun to find a cache that’s not been muddied up outside, it was quite pristine! I discovered my first two travel bugs here, and will be moving them both on at the weekend according to their missions.

A travel bug!
A travel bug!

Another security camera watched over me for this one, but something tells me the people working there are already in on it… This one would be a great place to start if you are visiting Durham for the first time.

A warm place to hide.
A warm place to hide.

When I was looking for my next cache (GC4KHXV), I ended up on the wrong side of the river, but another look at the description led me to the right spot, where I took this picture.

From the other side.
From the other side.

I found the small cache – my first tree-based find. Some sneaky camouflage hid it from general view, but I signed the log and replaced the leaves after a quick in-situ snap.

Pre-camouflage.
Pre-camouflage.

Next I went for a couple of caches in the cathedral area, all of which turned up nothing! One had been reported as possibly missing so I didn’t hold out much hope for it, and another (GCXD4J) appeared to be behind builders’ barriers. At least I got a nice view!

Interesting structure.
Interesting structure.

I thought I could catch a break with another cache (GC416DW) down by the river, so I headed down through the trees but it started to rain heavily. I decided not to pursue the find, especially as I hadn’t worked out the clue. Any gardener would no doubt have found it immediately from the clue. I didn’t even hang around to take a picture, but I will return.

The next find was just because I was walking by. It is part of a multi-cache (GC4ADVE), but I didn’t have time to do the whole thing. At least I have one clue to start me off next time!

Without the rest, this means nothing.
Without the rest, this means nothing.

My last cache (GC4Q7V0) of the day was a straightforward enough find. The clue was just enough to focus the search and was not a simple extraction! With the use of a twig I managed to pull it out and log the find, hoping to remain invisible to the photographer setting up for a picture of the Durham skyline.

A good view.
A good view.

With the light fading, it was time to go home!

The final find of the day.
The final find of the day.
5 thoughts on “Geocaching Finds 4 to 7 and Misses

Leave a Reply

