A return to Durham – Geocaches 94 and 95

At the beginning of the year I found myself in Durham with a few hours to kill, and went geocaching. The trip was only moderately successful, and with a few more hides under my belt, nicer weather, and enthusiastic fellow travellers (hi mam, hi Lin), I set about finding some of the ones that got away.

wpid-img_20140818_114736554.jpg

After a lovely lunch we headed along a path along the river, straight for  Fulling Mill (GC416DW) which had eluded me last time. Armed with an improved understanding of the clue, more experience and a lack of rainwater getting in my ears, I started looking around for it. My fellow searchers got very involved with some foliage and a stick, but I spotted the likely spot. I checked the cache was there before announcing the find, and mam zoomed up and found it too. It contained the creepiest thing I’ve ever found in a cache too…

wpid-img_20140818_140810876_hdr.jpg

After a few unsuccessful hunts, we headed past the cathedral and paid a visit to Durham World Heritage Site (GC4EYT2) – one that I’d found before. Mam dug around in the dressing up box with great enthusiasm, but it was Lin that spotted the cache in the end! We continued our walk through Durham…

wpid-img_20140818_151554114_hdr.jpg

 

 

I hoped to find another previous DNF – Durham is Changing (GC2CD9C) – which I’d expended an awful amount of effort on previously. This time, once at the correct spot, the hiding place became clear pretty quickly. It was a really nice hide, and I could see how I’d missed it previously not having seen a similar one back then. The container was full of foreign coins, which were really interesting to look through. We even got a sticker for our efforts…

wpid-img_20140818_151204247_hdr.jpg

Mam and Lin told me they’d enjoyed the hunt, and all the hills certainly helped us walk off our lunch.

 

2 thoughts on “A return to Durham – Geocaches 94 and 95

  1. Yes I did enjoy my first foray into Geochaching. Even more so when I managed to find one. It was a lovely day, a great lunch and a good walk in search of hidden treasure. Must do it again sometime. Lin 🙂

Leave a Reply

