Daily Archives: January 13, 2014

Geocaching in Newcastle – Finds 10-12

Spoiler Alert!

I spent an hour or so geocaching this morning with my dad – his first outing.

We went for four caches in total, and managed to find 3 out of 4, not bad considering they were all urban micros and nanos!

The first port of call was for the Travel Bug Footie Follower, which we took to a cache (GC4P4KE) near St James’ Park, as requested by the mission. The bottlecap sized cache was too small to leave the TB, so it is still with me until I can find a cache big enough to take it.

image
Visiting the Gates

The second cache of the day (GC1PJKH) was in the cloisters area of Newcastle, and it was also quickly found once we decided on the right side of the building, about the size of a film canister and well disguised too. This area is very interesting and worth a peek, I didn’t know it was even there until a few years ago.

image
No monks today...

We then headed to another nearby cache (GC4P4KE) near a theatre, but couldn’t find it. We were pretty sure we were in the right place though, so I’ll have to check it out again sometime.

The final attempt of the day (GC4T967) was successful, with a really cool nano cache ‘hidden in plain sight’ which blended in beautifully with its background. It didn’t even look like it wasn’t part of the structure it was stuck to. Fab!

image

I’ve still yet to tackle a multi, but that will have to wait for another day. I also saw that the Travel Bug Purple Pride has moved on from where I placed it… Happy travels!